Tags

,


Yesterday was the first day of National Novel Writing Month – haven't heard of it, check out the info here http://www.nanowrimo.org and here's a brief description from Wikipedia – National Novel Writing Month (also known as NaNoWriMo) is a creative writing project held annually in November in which participants attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. Despite the name, the project is now international in scope.


Thanks to the runners who inspired me, I will be working on something that is harder than it sounds. I mean, NaNoWriMo figures that you need to write at least 1,667 words each day to get to 50,000. Anyone who has tried to sit in front of a blank screen to scribe a book (or a term paper, love letter, important e-mail) will tell you how daunting it can be but I'm taking on the challenge. 

Seeing as how I've got nothing but time on my hands I hit the ground running. Writing all day today and am already at 5,000 words. I took the founders advice and decided to get my word count high in the beginning. I tried to do this last year but I didn't stay up on the word count and before I knew it I was behind so much I couldn't see how I was going to make…so I dropped out. Not this year! 

I've always intended to be a novelist…better late than never. Wish me luck and I'll keep a running total for all to see. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

