flat = apartment; tube = subway; biscuit = cookie; scone = biscuit; lemonade = sprite or 7up; snog = kiss; rubbish = trash; bin= garbage can; hob = stove top; crockery = plates

Having been in London nearly a year I realize that I’ve picked up the language pretty quickly so much so that I was ruthlessly teased yesterday during a conference call between myself, Smith and Paler. I’m not sure how it started but needless to say I was being blasted about how apparently I’ve become Tina Turner and will return to the states with a british accent in tow.

The thing is, the words listed above are the sort of things that anyone who’s come on holiday, umm vacation, to pick up. Actually anyone who has seen Sliding Doors, Notting Hill, Love Actually, The Holiday or any other number of British movies would have picked up those phrases but since I live here now and my friends think they’re comedians…

I’ve got an aresenal of other words and phrases that I don’t use because seriously, I laugh at myself when I may use them: minging = rotten, ugly or general awfulness; bish bash bosh = done in a jiffy; bits ‘n’ bobs = random stuff; cheeky = smart ass; chavy = hoody or (something close to that) and tons of others. And once I get the lingo down then I’ll start on perfecting my pitch. Yup, I’ll be coming round with a sweet, high pitched proper posh accent on my return. Cheerio!

Here’s a little funny for you…

