Being of an immigrant family, I always wondered why my mom threw herself into Thanksgiving day festivities.

My mom was great at it. She’d start planning weeks in advance and spend nearly two days cooking. It was largely that we never had less than twenty people convening around our table to break bread. Which, of course, requires a lot of food.

When asked, “Why’d we start celebrating Turkey day?” My mom explained that she fought against it for a long time. But eventually, the inundation we got at school worked and she folded against her kids whining about celebrating Thanksgiving. Then in time, she grew to love the togetherness of family and friends and appreciated the idea behind the holiday.

I am currently being battled, in the same way, by Lil Burs. From the first time she heard about a holiday with a deep connection to food, she’s been pleading for it to be reanimated at our dinner table. It started with a photo of sweet potatoes with marshmallows on top and continues with a slew of other dishes that she hasn’t had the pleasure of consuming. Sadly for her, she’s got me as her non-biological mom.

This has never been my thing. Sure, I enjoyed hanging with family but I could see them any day of the week. Food. Not a fan of turkey. Or cranberries. Or green bean casserole. Over all, not having or celebrating this holiday doesn’t make me sad or envious of others who are. I’ve seen my living in a country that doesn’t have Thanksgiving (or any massively celebrated holiday, other than Christmas) as a blessing! A joy! The place I’m meant to be.

But that blessing is being put on hold.

Today I awoke to Lil Burs planning on cooking Thanksgiving dinner. She was online looking at pictures, reading recipes and formulating a series of questions. So she, is doing what we did to my mom all those years ago. Forcing you toward celebrating whether you want to or not.

She gets this one. And next year, it will go back to be unnoticed. YES!

 

 

